Real estate and Org table formulas

Daniel Gopar (he/him, IRC: gopar, gopardaniel@gmail.com)

In this talk, Daniel Gopar shares how he uses Org tables as spreadsheets to help him decide on real estate investments. Afterwards, he will handle questions via the Etherpad.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sat 2022-12-03. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Schedule for Saturday Saturday 9:00- 9:05 Saturday opening remarks sat-open 9:05- 9:25 Emacs journalism (or everything's a nail if you hit it with Emacs) journalism 9:45- 9:55 Back to school with Emacs school 10:05-10:15 How to incorporate handwritten notes into Emacs Orgmode handwritten 10:45-11:05 Writing and organizing literature notes for scientific writing science 11:25-11:35 The Emacs Buddy initiative buddy 1:00- 1:20 Attending and organizing Emacs meetups meetups 1:40- 1:55 Linking personal info with Hyperbole implicit buttons buttons 2:15- 2:40 Real estate and Org table formulas realestate 3:00- 3:25 Health data journaling and visualization with Org Mode and gnuplot health 3:45- 4:05 Edit live Jupyter notebook cells with Emacs jupyter 4:50- 4:55 Saturday closing remarks sat-close 10:00-10:15 Tree-sitter beyond syntax highlighting treesitter 10:25-10:45 lsp-bridge: a smooth-as-butter asynchronous LSP client lspbridge 10:55-11:15 asm-blox: a game based on WebAssembly that no one asked for asmblox 11:25-11:35 Emacs should become a Wayland compositor wayland 1:00- 1:25 Using SQLite as a data source: a framework and an example sqlite 1:50- 2:30 Revisiting the anatomy of Emacs mail user agents mail 2:50- 3:10 Maintaining the Maintainers: Attribution as an Economic Model for Open Source maint 3:35- 3:40 Bidirectional links with eev eev 3:50- 3:55 Short hyperlinks to Python docs python 4:05- 4:35 Haskell code exploration with Emacs haskell 9 AM 10 AM 11 AM 12 PM 1 PM 2 PM 3 PM 4 PM 5 PM

Format: 25-min talk followed by pad Q&A (#emacsconf-gen)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-realestate
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~2:15 PM - 2:40 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~1:15 PM - 1:40 PM CST (US/Central)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~12:15 PM - 12:40 PM MST (US/Mountain)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~11:15 AM - 11:40 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~7:15 PM - 7:40 PM UTC
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~8:15 PM - 8:40 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~9:15 PM - 9:40 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:45 AM - 1:10 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:15 AM - 3:40 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~4:15 AM - 4:40 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

This will be a 20 minute presentation on how I use org mode tables (specifically formulas) on how I can quickly see if a deal is feasible or not.

Topics will include:

  • Creating Table Formulas
  • Special Buffer Editing Formulas
  • Formatting output
  • Special Debugging just for formulas
  • Creating Custom Formulas
  • Automatically re-calculating rows/table
  • Finally Putting it all together to tell at a glance if a property is ideal or not

Essentially bits and pieces from this section of the manual: https://orgmode.org/manual/The-Spreadsheet.html

Questions or comments? Please e-mail gopardaniel@gmail.com

CategoryOrgMode