Back to the talks Previous by time: rde Emacs introduction Next by time: justl: Driving recipes within Emacs Track: General

Linking headings (poor-man's Zettelkasten) and defining advanced task dependencies

Karl Voit (he/him, IRC: publicvoit, EmacsConf22@Karl-Voit.at)

In this talk, Karl Voit shares how he uses org-edna and org-super-links to manage dependencies and links betweentasks in Org Mode. Afterwards, he will handle questions over BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 9-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/orgsuperlinks/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-orgsuperlinks
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:40 AM - 10:50 AM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:40 AM - 9:50 AM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:40 AM - 8:50 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:40 AM - 7:50 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:40 PM - 3:50 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~4:40 PM - 4:50 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~5:40 PM - 5:50 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:10 PM - 9:20 PM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:40 PM - 11:50 PM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~12:40 AM - 12:50 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

As written in this blog article, Karl thinks that a full-blown Zettelkasten workflow is not always a perfect match for a given set of requirements.

To him, the most important aspect of the Zettelkasten method are the bi-directional links between arbitrary headings. If you want to use such links without the additional burden and benefit of a Zettelkasten implementation, you might want to learn how bi-directional links are able to help you here.

In this talk, you will see a demo how links are used in the author's setup for linking headings and defining advanced dependencies between todo headings.

You can find the self-contained demo file on Gitlab.com. It consists of various packages and some Elisp glue to create these methods:

  • Bi-directional links between headings:

    • org-super-links with org-super-links-org-ql and org-super-links-org-rifle
      • org-super-links-quick-insert-inline-link
      • org-super-links-quick-insert-drawer-link
    • org-linker
  • Advanced dependencies:

  • Search, completion and narrowing:

  • Adding CREATED properties for new headings: org-expiry (not necessary for any demo functionality)

More on bi-directional links and Karl's Org mode projects:

More Emacs-related articles by Karl

Questions or comments? Please e-mail EmacsConf22@Karl-Voit.at

Back to the talks Previous by time: rde Emacs introduction Next by time: justl: Driving recipes within Emacs Track: General

CategoryOrgMode CategoryZettelkasten