Back to the talks Previous by time: Short hyperlinks to Python docs Next by time: Saturday closing remarks Track: Development

Haskell code exploration with Emacs

Yuchen Pei (he/him/himself/his/his, IRC: dragestil, id@ypei.org)

In this talk, Yuchen Pei demonstrates an Emacs package for exploring Haskell code and org documentation generated by a Haddock org backend. Afterwards, he will handle questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sat 2022-12-03. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Schedule for Saturday Saturday 9:00- 9:05 Saturday opening remarks sat-open 9:05- 9:25 Emacs journalism (or everything's a nail if you hit it with Emacs) journalism 9:45- 9:55 Back to school with Emacs school 10:05-10:15 How to incorporate handwritten notes into Emacs Orgmode handwritten 10:45-11:05 Writing and organizing literature notes for scientific writing science 11:25-11:35 The Emacs Buddy initiative buddy 1:00- 1:20 Attending and organizing Emacs meetups meetups 1:40- 1:55 Linking personal info with Hyperbole implicit buttons buttons 2:15- 2:40 Real estate and Org table formulas realestate 3:00- 3:25 Health data journaling and visualization with Org Mode and gnuplot health 3:45- 4:05 Edit live Jupyter notebook cells with Emacs jupyter 4:50- 4:55 Saturday closing remarks sat-close 10:00-10:15 Tree-sitter beyond syntax highlighting treesitter 10:25-10:45 lsp-bridge: a smooth-as-butter asynchronous LSP client lspbridge 10:55-11:15 asm-blox: a game based on WebAssembly that no one asked for asmblox 11:25-11:35 Emacs should become a Wayland compositor wayland 1:00- 1:25 Using SQLite as a data source: a framework and an example sqlite 1:50- 2:30 Revisiting the anatomy of Emacs mail user agents mail 2:50- 3:10 Maintaining the Maintainers: Attribution as an Economic Model for Open Source maint 3:35- 3:40 Bidirectional links with eev eev 3:50- 3:55 Short hyperlinks to Python docs python 4:05- 4:35 Haskell code exploration with Emacs haskell 9 AM 10 AM 11 AM 12 PM 1 PM 2 PM 3 PM 4 PM 5 PM

Format: 30-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/haskell/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-haskell
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~4:05 PM - 4:35 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~3:05 PM - 3:35 PM CST (US/Central)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~2:05 PM - 2:35 PM MST (US/Mountain)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~1:05 PM - 1:35 PM PST (US/Pacific)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~9:05 PM - 9:35 PM UTC
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~10:05 PM - 10:35 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~11:05 PM - 11:35 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~2:35 AM - 3:05 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~5:05 AM - 5:35 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~6:05 AM - 6:35 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

In this talk I will describe and demonstrate some tools for Haskell development using Emacs, including code exploration using hcel and haddock org documentation generation using haddorg.

Bio

Yuchen is a programmer and mathematician. He co-maintains librejs and h-node.org, and a couple of Emacs packages at GNU ELPA. He is also a licensing volunteer with the FSF. In his personal time, he likes to program in Haskell and elisp and license all of his programming work under AGPLv3+ (see https://g.ypei.me). He can be reached at id@ypei.org.

Questions or comments? Please e-mail id@ypei.org

Back to the talks Previous by time: Short hyperlinks to Python docs Next by time: Saturday closing remarks Track: Development

CategoryCoding