Linking personal info with Hyperbole implicit buttons

Mats Lidell (he/him/his, matsl@gnu.org)

In this talk, Mats Lidell shares how you can create your own hyperbutton syntax that can be used in any file to trigger any kind of action. After the talk, he will answer your questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sat 2022-12-03. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Schedule for Saturday Saturday 9:00- 9:05 Saturday opening remarks sat-open 9:05- 9:25 Emacs journalism (or everything's a nail if you hit it with Emacs) journalism 9:45- 9:55 Back to school with Emacs school 10:05-10:15 How to incorporate handwritten notes into Emacs Orgmode handwritten 10:45-11:05 Writing and organizing literature notes for scientific writing science 11:25-11:35 The Emacs Buddy initiative buddy 1:00- 1:20 Attending and organizing Emacs meetups meetups 1:40- 1:55 Linking personal info with Hyperbole implicit buttons buttons 2:15- 2:40 Real estate and Org table formulas realestate 3:00- 3:25 Health data journaling and visualization with Org Mode and gnuplot health 3:45- 4:05 Edit live Jupyter notebook cells with Emacs jupyter 4:50- 4:55 Saturday closing remarks sat-close 10:00-10:15 Tree-sitter beyond syntax highlighting treesitter 10:25-10:45 lsp-bridge: a smooth-as-butter asynchronous LSP client lspbridge 10:55-11:15 asm-blox: a game based on WebAssembly that no one asked for asmblox 11:25-11:35 Emacs should become a Wayland compositor wayland 1:00- 1:25 Using SQLite as a data source: a framework and an example sqlite 1:50- 2:30 Revisiting the anatomy of Emacs mail user agents mail 2:50- 3:10 Maintaining the Maintainers: Attribution as an Economic Model for Open Source maint 3:35- 3:40 Bidirectional links with eev eev 3:50- 3:55 Short hyperlinks to Python docs python 4:05- 4:35 Haskell code exploration with Emacs haskell 9 AM 10 AM 11 AM 12 PM 1 PM 2 PM 3 PM 4 PM 5 PM

Format: 11-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/buttons/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-buttons
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~1:40 PM - 1:55 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~12:40 PM - 12:55 PM CST (US/Central)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~11:40 AM - 11:55 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~10:40 AM - 10:55 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~6:40 PM - 6:55 PM UTC
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~7:40 PM - 7:55 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Saturday, Dec 3 2022, ~8:40 PM - 8:55 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:10 AM - 12:25 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~2:40 AM - 2:55 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:40 AM - 3:55 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

GNU Hyperbole, The Everyday Hypertextual Information Manager, supports hypertext links. Linking is done though buttons that can be either of two types, implicit buttons and explicit buttons.

In this talk I will show how the Hyperbole support of implicit buttons can be used to create links to personal data.

Outline:

  1. Short introduction to Hyperbole
  2. Description of what an implicit button is
  3. Description of how Hyperbole supports creating new implicit buttons using the Hyperbole defil macro
  4. Examples of applying the defil macro together with different personal data structures

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org