Back to the schedule
Next: Emacs News Highlights

Opening remarks

Status: Will be live
Duration: 18 minutes

Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 9:00 AM - 9:18 AM EST
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 6:00 AM - 6:18 AM PST
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 2:00 PM - 2:18 PM UTC
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 3:00 PM - 3:18 PM CET
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 4:00 PM - 4:18 PM EET
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~ 7:30 PM - 7:48 PM IST
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~10:00 PM - 10:18 PM +08
Saturday, Nov 27 2021, ~11:00 PM - 11:18 PM JST
Find out how to watch and participate

This talk will also be streamed at an alternate time for APAC hours: https://libreau.org/upcoming.html#emacsconf21

If you have questions and the speaker has not indicated public contact information on this page, please feel free to e-mail us at emacsconf-submit@gnu.org and we'll forward your question to the speaker.

Description

  • Welcome to EmacsConf 2021
  • How to participate:
    • Collecting questions, answers, and shared notes on Etherpad (https://etherpad.wikimedia.org/p/emacsconf-2021)
    • You can also post questions and discuss things on #emacsconf on chat.emacsconf.org (frontend for libera.chat if you want to use your favorite IRC client)
  • Conduct guidelines:
    • One of the neat things about Emacs is that there are so many ways to do things. Please remember to be nice! =)
  • What's new in this EmacsConf 2021
    • Lots of talks! Shorter time, Q&A might be live/pad/IRC, might have alternate stream if needed
    • Streaming with open captions thanks to volunteers - all the day 1 talks have been captioned, and we might get day 2 sorted out too
    • Prerecorded videos will be published as soon as we can (aiming for publishing them as the talks stream, so you can easily catch up with any talks you've missed)
    • APAC-time-friendly alternate stream by LibreAustralia folks https://libreau.org/upcoming.html#emacsconf21
  • Thanks
    • Speakers, volunteers
    • Karl Voit for managing the pad
    • Bhavin Gandhi and Hannah Miller for help with the captions
    • Free Software Foundation, especially the FSF tech team, for their continued help and support
    • Fosshost, for BigBlueButton server and for ftp-upload server
    • Computer Science Club of the University of Waterloo, for continuing hosting the videos/files on the CSC mirror server
    • Jan Prunk (yang), for EU mirror of EmacsConf videos/files: https://de1.mirror.si/emacsconf/
    • Grant Shangreaux, for beautiful music :) (under CC BY-SA 4.0) https://churls.world/basement-days/basement-days.html
    • Qiantan Hong (qhong), author/maintainer of crdt.el which we used for sharing Emacs buffers between organizers
    • Wojciech Siewierski (vifon), for assisting zaeph with his scripts last minute
    • Organizers
    • Everyone
  • 09:12 Schedule overview
    • Day 1 (general talks), Day 2 (development) - but come back for some general-audience talks at the end of day 2, including the closing talk on M-x Forever by David Wilson (System Crafters)
    • Day 1
      • Morning
        • User stories
        • Philosophy (including a talk by Prot)
        • Configuration
        • Demos of Emacs's flexibility
      • Afternoon
        • A peek behind the curtain at Emacs Development (janitor talk)
        • Org Mode
          • Workflows
          • Tech
          • Research
        • External things
        • Dev update
        • On the design of text editors - Nicolas P. Rougier
    • Even if you're not a developer, consider coming back for tomorrow's closing
  • APAC stream

Back to the schedule
Next: Emacs News Highlights