Back to the talks Previous by time: Top 10 reasons why you should be using Eshell Next by time: Emacs was async before async was cool Track: General

Org workflows for developers

George Mauer (he/him/they/ze, IRC: gmauer, gmauer+emacsconf@gmail.com)

In this talk, George Mauer demonstrates several ways that Org Mode can help people explore and develop code. Afterwards, he will handle questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 21-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/workflows/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-workflows
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:50 PM - 2:15 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:50 PM - 1:15 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:50 AM - 12:15 PM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:50 AM - 11:15 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~6:50 PM - 7:15 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:50 PM - 8:15 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:50 PM - 9:15 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~12:20 AM - 12:45 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~2:50 AM - 3:15 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~3:50 AM - 4:15 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

Table of Contents

We all know org-mode is great but much of the discussion often focuses on the agendas, todo lists, and project planning. These are all valuable. yet rarely do we talk about workflows that do work, not just plan it. Inspired by literate programming ideas, this talk will demonstrate a grab-bag of workflows developed over the years that are of use not only for planning, tracking, note keeping, and ops work, but in actual day-to-day enterprise software development.

Questions or comments? Please e-mail gmauer+emacsconf@gmail.com

Back to the talks Previous by time: Top 10 reasons why you should be using Eshell Next by time: Emacs was async before async was cool Track: General

CategoryOrgMode CategoryCoding