rde Emacs introduction

Andrew Tropin (he/him, IRC: abcdw, https://trop.in)

In this talk, Andrew Tropin will demonstrate how to use rde Emacs for reproducible configuration, including how to enable or remove features. Afterwards, he will handle questions over BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 24-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/rde/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-rde
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:00 AM - 10:25 AM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:00 AM - 9:25 AM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:00 AM - 8:25 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:00 AM - 7:25 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:00 PM - 3:25 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~4:00 PM - 4:25 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~5:00 PM - 5:25 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:30 PM - 8:55 PM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:00 PM - 11:25 PM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~12:00 AM - 12:25 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

rde Emacs is a vanilla-flavored distribution of Emacs, which intergates well with your OS, WM and rest of the environment. It's built on top of Guix Home project and allows to manage not only elisp packages and configurations, but other dependencies like operating system packages, user program configurations in a declarative and reproducible manner.

You don't need to follow complicated installation instructions, apply workarounds and be afraid of updates: just do it, update rde, throw some custom elisp code, declare and customize features you need or want to try in a simple lisp (Scheme) file and you will get it. Don't like the result? Just rollback to previous generation and EVERYTHING will work as before. Once you make it to your liking, it will work forever*, even if you move to a new laptop/workstation.

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org

Related talks

CategoryConfiguration