Back to the talks Previous by time: Putting Org Mode on the Indieweb Next by time: Emacs development updates Track: Development

Pre-localizing Emacs

Jean-Christophe Helary (he/him)

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 10-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/localizing/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-localizing
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Waiting for video from speaker

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~4:00 PM - 4:10 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:00 PM - 3:10 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~2:00 PM - 2:10 PM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:00 PM - 1:10 PM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:00 PM - 9:10 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:00 PM - 10:10 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:00 PM - 11:10 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~2:30 AM - 2:40 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~5:00 AM - 5:10 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~6:00 AM - 6:10 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

Before Emacs user-facing strings are localized to users’ languages (will that ever happen?), there are things developers must remember when including such strings in the code, and there are things that emacs-lisp beginners (like me, forever) can do to help when they face such issues.

It is not easy to write naturally flowing language when the language depends on program variables, but even if we stick to English for the time being, it is important to separate natural language from computer language as much as possible.

I will be presenting an old patch to packages.el accepted in June 2018 that took me about a year to write. The origin of the patch is a plural mistake in the packages install messages. As you can see pre-patch, the code was filled with English substrings embedded into the code to produce pasts, plurals and all sorts of English grammatical constructs.

https://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/emacs.git/commit/?id=61f73703c74756e6963cc622f03bcc6938ab71b2

Even if it is a beginner’s patch (thoroughly reviewed by dev-experts), it shows what can be done by emacs-lisp beginners to help with “straightening” the strings to reduce the number of potential English bugs and then to make Emacs strings easier to be handled by real localization processes, one day.

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org

Back to the talks Previous by time: Putting Org Mode on the Indieweb Next by time: Emacs development updates Track: Development