justl: Driving recipes within Emacs

Sibi Prabakaran (he/him, psibi2000@gmail.com)

In this talk, Sibi Prabakaran shares how to use justl to run justfile tasks from inside Emacs, including a comparison with Makefiles. Afterwards, he will handle questions over IRC.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 11-min talk followed by IRC Q&A (#emacsconf-dev)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-justl
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:50 AM - 11:05 AM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:50 AM - 10:05 AM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:50 AM - 9:05 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:50 AM - 8:05 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:50 PM - 4:05 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~4:50 PM - 5:05 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~5:50 PM - 6:05 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:20 PM - 9:35 PM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:50 PM - 12:05 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~12:50 AM - 1:05 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

justl.el is a major mode for driving justfiles.

Justfiles are a way to save and run project specific commands. Think of it like Makefile, but purely focused as a command runner.

The purpose of the talk is to give a brief introduction about justfile and then followed by how to use the justl.el extension to drive justfiles from within Emacs.

Bio: https://psibi.in/about.html

Resources

Questions or comments? Please e-mail psibi2000@gmail.com

CategoryCoding