Back to the talks Previous by time: The Wheels on D-Bus Next by time: Pre-localizing Emacs Track: General

Putting Org Mode on the Indieweb

Michael Herstine (IRC: sp1ff)

In this talk, Michael Herstine shows how to set up Org Mode for sending and publishing Webmentions as part of the Indieweb. Afterwards, he will handle questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 17-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/indieweb/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-indieweb
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~3:25 PM - 3:45 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~2:25 PM - 2:45 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:25 PM - 1:45 PM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:25 PM - 12:45 PM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:25 PM - 8:45 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~9:25 PM - 9:45 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:25 PM - 10:45 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~1:55 AM - 2:15 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~4:25 AM - 4:45 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~5:25 AM - 5:45 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

Table of Contents

Many of us maintain personal websites using Org Mode. While an Org-generated static site has advantages over full-blown Content Management Systems, its simplicity comes with costs such as fewer features. The first feature I missed was supporting comments on my site, but I quickly began to feel isolated on the web altogether.

Enter the Indieweb: the Indieweb is a collection of protocols for connecting to other independent sites, pushing your content to social media sites, collecting likes, comments & responses from other sites back to yours, and many other things as well.

In this talk, I'll briefly sketch out the dilemma of the independent web site & how the Indieweb tries to address it. The focus, however, will be on how Emacs, Org Mode, and a few Unix tools suffice to get your static Org Mode site onto the Indieweb.

Michael is a developer and long-time Emacs user from the San Francisco Bay area. He hacks in C++, Lisp & Rust and thinks a lot about writing provably correct code. You can find him at:

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org

Back to the talks Previous by time: The Wheels on D-Bus Next by time: Pre-localizing Emacs Track: General

CategoryOrgMode