Back to the talks Previous by time: What I'd like to see in Emacs Next by time: Getting detached from Emacs Track: General

Powerful productivity with Hyperbole and Org Mode

Robert Weiner (wine-er)

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 30-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/hyperorg/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-hyperorg
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-gen
Status: Waiting for video from speaker

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:00 PM - 1:30 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:00 PM - 12:30 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:00 AM - 11:30 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:00 AM - 10:30 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~6:00 PM - 6:30 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:00 PM - 7:30 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:00 PM - 8:30 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:30 PM - 12:00 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~2:00 AM - 2:30 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~3:00 AM - 3:30 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

GNU Hyperbole and Org Mode are both parts of Emacs; both offer outlining and hypertext support but Org uses its own native format while Hyperbole can work across all major modes and data formats, including Org's. The two systems are compatible. This talk will show ways to use them together and the resultant productivity benefits that can be achieved.

Outline:

a. Context-sensitive Action Key on Org Constructs b. Automate Actions in Org Mode with Hyperbole Key Series c. Rapidly Link to or from Org Headers, e.g. in Source Code d. Search over Org Notes with Hyperbole's HyRolo e. Dynamically Expand/Contract Org outlines exported to web pages f. Embed Org Tables in Hyperbole Koutlines g. Create Your Own Hyperbole Implicit Buttons from Org h. Hyperbole Expands Org Mode to an Emacs-wide Persistant Hyperbutton-Action Capability on Any Textual Format

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org

Back to the talks Previous by time: What I'd like to see in Emacs Next by time: Getting detached from Emacs Track: General

CategoryHyperbole