Back to the talks Previous by time: Getting detached from Emacs Next by time: Org workflows for developers Track: Development

Top 10 reasons why you should be using Eshell

Howard Abrams (he/him)

In this talk, Howard Abrams shows how eshell combines the best of Emacs Lisp and shells. Afterwards, he will handle questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 15-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/eshell/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-eshell
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:40 PM - 1:55 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:40 PM - 12:55 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:40 AM - 11:55 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:40 AM - 10:55 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~6:40 PM - 6:55 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:40 PM - 7:55 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:40 PM - 8:55 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~12:10 AM - 12:25 AM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~2:40 AM - 2:55 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~3:40 AM - 3:55 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

While Eshell is this quick and dirty way to run external commands, its dirtiness plays into the Lisp’s malleable big ball of mud metaphor, and I have a number of quick hacks that will make you want to play in this puddle.

This will be a lightning talk that I will pre-record to show off some features in eshell I found while diving into the source code … stuff you can’t do in another terminals. Did you know that `$$` is a special variable that contains the output from the last command?

Questions or comments? Please e-mail emacsconf-org-private@gnu.org

Back to the talks Previous by time: Getting detached from Emacs Next by time: Org workflows for developers Track: Development