Back to the talks Previous by time: Powerful productivity with Hyperbole and Org Mode Next by time: Top 10 reasons why you should be using Eshell Track: Development

Getting detached from Emacs

Niklas Eklund (he/him, niklas.eklund@posteo.net)

In this talk, Niklas Eklund shows how to use detached to manage long-running asynchronous processes, including how to search through and compare session results. Afterwards, he will handle questions via BigBlueButton.

The following image shows where the talk is in the schedule for Sun 2022-12-04. Solid lines show talks with Q&A via BigBlueButton. Dashed lines show talks with Q&A via IRC or Etherpad.

Format: 11-min talk followed by live Q&A (https://emacsconf.org/current/detached/room)
Etherpad: https://pad.emacsconf.org/2022-detached
Discuss on IRC: #emacsconf-dev
Status: Talk captioned

Times in different timezones:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~1:00 PM - 1:15 PM EST (US/Eastern)
which is the same as:
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~12:00 PM - 12:15 PM CST (US/Central)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:00 AM - 11:15 AM MST (US/Mountain)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~10:00 AM - 10:15 AM PST (US/Pacific)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~6:00 PM - 6:15 PM UTC
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~7:00 PM - 7:15 PM CET (Europe/Paris)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~8:00 PM - 8:15 PM EET (Europe/Athens)
Sunday, Dec 4 2022, ~11:30 PM - 11:45 PM IST (Asia/Kolkata)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~2:00 AM - 2:15 AM +08 (Asia/Singapore)
Monday, Dec 5 2022, ~3:00 AM - 3:15 AM JST (Asia/Tokyo)
Find out how to watch and participate

Description

As an enthusiastic Emacs user I would find myself replacing the usage of an external terminal emulator with the Emacs alternative interfaces. This included using packages such as dired for file management, magit for git and proced for processes. However I always kept a terminal around for running shell commands. These were commands that I knew would either, take a long time to run, produce a lot of rapid text output or that I would run on a remote machine. In the remote case I would rely on tmux to be able to detach and let the command run even when I wasn't connected.

To rid me of the need for the terminal emulator in these situations I developed the detached.el package. It is a package that builds on top of the dtach program, which provides the ability to detach and re-attach to processes, to offload Emacs from these processes. The package seamlessly integrates the ability to detach and attach into Emacs, and offers integration with many built in features such as shell, eshell, compile, org and dired.

In this talk I will demonstrate the features of this alternative way to run detached processes and how the package can leverage built in Emacs functionality to provide a great experience. The user interface will be showcased and how the processes essentially becomes text, which fits very well into Emacs.

Bio

My name is Niklas Eklund. I am 35 years young and I live in Gothenburg (Sweden) with my wife and our dog. In my daily work, I write code in C++ and Python. My free time I dedicate to music, board-games, improvement, and of course, Emacs.

More than 4 years has passed since I first started using Emacs and there is so much to like about it: its community, the ethics and how it encourage me to experiment and explore. Whether it is about writing a small function, or a package, the ability to mold Emacs to what makes sense to us as individuals is something to cherish.

Questions or comments? Please e-mail niklas.eklund@posteo.net

Back to the talks Previous by time: Powerful productivity with Hyperbole and Org Mode Next by time: Top 10 reasons why you should be using Eshell Track: Development