Back to the schedule
Previous: Pathing of Least Resistance
Next: Lakota Language and Emacs

A tour of vterm

Gabriele Bozzola (@sbozzolo)

Download video

Download compressed .webm video (10.9M)

Download Q&A video

Download compressed Q&A .webm video (3.3M)

Vterm is a fast and fully capable terminal emulator in GNU Emacs built as a dynamic module on top of libvterm. In this talk, I will give an overview of the package. I will discuss the installation and common customizations. I will go into details on some of the most important features, such as directory tracking or message passing. Finally, I will touch upon known incompatibilities and the future directions of the project.

URL: https://github.com/akermu/emacs-libvterm

Questions

Q5: Does/will this work with 'emacs -nw'?

Yes, it does.

Q4: Thats a nice looking prompt, do you have it on a Git repo we could see, or something of that manner? Thanks, I use Bash right now so I didn't know it was the default on the others.

It is not the default, but it is available easily with oh-my-zsh or similar on fish. I think the prompt is this: https://github.com/sindresorhus/pure

Q3: Is there a plan to avoid the initial compilation step?

Not any time soon. You will have to compile vterm the first time you start it.

Q2: What are differences between Eshell and vterm?

Performance. vterm is like xterm but in Emacs, Eshell is like Bash but in Emacs.

https://github.com/akermu/emacs-libvterm#given-that-eshell-shell-and-ansi-term-are-emacs-built-in-why-should-i-use-vterm

Q1: Could you put your testing scripts up somewhere?

Notes

https://github.com/akermu/emacs-libvterm

Sunday, Nov 29 2020, ~ 2:45 PM - 2:55 PM EST
Sunday, Nov 29 2020, ~11:45 AM - 11:55 AM PST
Sunday, Nov 29 2020, ~ 7:45 PM - 7:55 PM UTC
Sunday, Nov 29 2020, ~ 8:45 PM - 8:55 PM CET
Monday, Nov 30 2020, ~ 3:45 AM - 3:55 AM +08

Back to the schedule
Previous: Pathing of Least Resistance
Next: Lakota Language and Emacs