Back to the schedule
Previous: Day 1 opening remarks
Next: An Emacs Developer Story: From User to Package Maintainer

Emacs News Highlights

Sacha Chua

Download with subtitles, 3:58, 11MB
Download captions
Download compressed .webm video (10M) View transcript

Quick highlights from Emacs News since the last EmacsConf

Links

Following up

Got any cool Emacs links you'd like me to share? You can post interesting things to https://reddit.com/r/emacs or https://reddit.com/r/orgmode, depending on the topic. I include selected links from there in my Emacs News. Alternatively, you can e-mail me at sacha@sachachua.com. I tend to reply pretty slowly, but I'm happy to hear from you.

Questions

Any news about guile-on-emacs? Is it a dead project?

  • [Sacha]: Haven't been linking to things about it lately. Last major news was https://emacsninja.com/posts/state-of-emacs-lisp-on-guile.html (May), I think

  • The only contributor to it occasionally shows up on #emacs, they revealed they've been busy programming for a living to improve browser JS engines and would need funding to do further Guile Emacs work (like, 10$ monthly from a few dozen people on Patreon or so)

Is there some kind of online summary page of Emacs community meetups and events?

Notes

Saturday, Nov 28 2020, ~ 9:33 AM - 9:37 AM EST
Saturday, Nov 28 2020, ~ 6:33 AM - 6:37 AM PST
Saturday, Nov 28 2020, ~ 2:33 PM - 2:37 PM UTC
Saturday, Nov 28 2020, ~ 3:33 PM - 3:37 PM CET
Saturday, Nov 28 2020, ~10:33 PM - 10:37 PM +08

Back to the schedule
Previous: Day 1 opening remarks
Next: An Emacs Developer Story: From User to Package Maintainer