pad

Don’t update this page, update https://pads.ccc.de/fPYMhovcNN

EmacsConf 2019 - Shared shownotes pad https:emacsconf.org/2019/schedule

This page will get archived on: https://emacsconf.org/2019/pad (Thanks Sacha!)

This page will get archived on: https://emacsconf.org/2019/pad (Thanks Sacha!)

——————————--

EXAMPLE of the idea:

$TITLE

——————————--

Opening remarks 9am EDT / 1pm UTC / 2pm CET

——————————--

Use Org mode when away from the desktop: Organice (pre-recorded) Zen Monk Alain M. Lafon, 200ok.ch

——————————--

Org-mode and FoilTeX - an unlikely (but useful) combination for teaching (pre-recorded) Tom Faulkenberry

related: * https://karl-voit.at/2019/10/12/org-reveal-handout/ * mentioned on IRC: https://opensource.com/article/18/4/how-create-latex-documents-emacs

——————————--

A.I. that Helps Play the Game of Your Life (pre-recorded) Andrew J. Dougherty (adougher9@gmail.com) (aindilis)

related: * https://www.nctm.org/Publications/Teaching-Children-Mathematics/Blog/Current-Research-on-Gender-Differences-in-Math/

——————————--

How a Completely Blind Manager/Dev Uses Emacs Every Day 10:15-10:45am EDT / 2:15-2:45pm UTC / 3:15-3:45pm CET Parham Doustdar (parham90@gmail.com)

——————————--

Managing your life with org-mode and other tools 10:45-11:15am EDT / 2:45-3:15pm UTC / 3:45-4:15pm CET → 2019-11-02T15.44.28 CET Marcin Swieczkowski (scatman@bu.edu)

related: * https://karl-voit.at/2017/01/15/org-clone-subtree-with-time-shift/ * https://karl-voit.at/2014/08/20/org-losses-determining-post-commit/

——————————--

notmuch new(s) (pre-recorded) David Bremner

——————————--

Browsing Twitch.tv from Emacs (pre-recorded) Aaron Jacobs (atheriel@gmail.com, https://twitter.com/unconj1, https://unconj.ca/blog/)

——————————--

Ledger-mode (pre-recorded) Miguel Suárez and Quiliro Ordóñez

related: * https://plaintextaccounting.org/

——————————--

Playing Emacs like an instrument (pre-recorded, teaser version (full talk see URL below)) Zen Monk Alain M. Lafon (alain@200ok.ch)

related: * web browsing: https://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/CategoryWebBrowser * https://next.atlas.engineer/

——————————--

GNU Emacs for All 9:30-10:15am EDT / 1:30-2:15pm UTC / 2:30-3:15pm CET Sachin Patil

——————————--

Lightning talks 11:15-12pm EDT / 3:15-4pm UTC / 4:15-5pm CET

——————————--

Magit deep dive 12-12:45pm EDT / 4-4:45pm UTC / 5-5:45pm CET Jonathan Chu @jonathanchu (https://jonathanchu.is/)

related: * https://magit.vc/ * https://magit.vc/manual/magit/ * his init.el: https://github.com/jonathanchu/dotemacs * https://git-scm.com/doc * https://magit.vc/manual/magit/Wip-Modes.html

——————————--

Emacs as my Go To Script Language 12:45-1:30pm EDT / 4:45-5:30pm UTC / 5:45-6:30pm CET Howard Abrams

——————————--

Continuously checking for quality of your packages 1:30-2:15pm EDT / 5:30-6:15pm UTC / 6:30-7:15pm CET Damien Cassou

related: * https://melpa.org/#/buttercup * https://melpa.org/#/package-lint * https://melpa.org/#/flycheck * https://melpa.org/#/flycheck-package

——————————--

Lightning talks 2:15-3:15pm EDT / 6:15-7:15pm UTC / 7:15-8pm CET

——————————--

Navigel to facilitate the creation of tabulated-list based UIs Damien Cassou

related: * Question: What screenkey-like program is Damien using? It’s nicely less intrusive than screenkey. Answer: https://github.com/nibrahim/showkeys * personal tips from Damien: https://emacsconf.org/2019/tips (at the bottom): “to start 3 processes simultaneously: showkeys, ffmpeg for audio and ffmpeg for video” https://gist.github.com/DamienCassou/0e3663ce3bdb710a44eeb7122870f621

——————————--

Play and control your music with Emacs David O’Toole

related: * Question: what’s the repo for the spreadsheet? Answers: https://gitlab.com/dto/mosaic-el, with the data files here https://gitlab.com/dto/violin.mosaic, the main documentation page is http://xelf.me/scheme-mosaic.html but it doesn’t have much about the emacs side yet

——————————--

How Emacs became my awesome Java editing environment Torstein Krause Johansen @torsteinkrause, http://skybert.net/

related: * (he used it in the past) https://github.com/emacs-eclim/emacs-eclim * Torstein’s Emacs config for Java: https://gitlab.com/skybert/my-little-friends/blob/master/emacs/.emacs#L780 * This looks pretty helpful: http://www.skybert.net/emacs/enterprise-java-development-in-emacs/

——————————--

Automate your workflow as a game developer Jānis Mancēvičs

related: * https://sachachua.com/blog/2014/04/emacs-chat-janis-mancevics/

——————————--

Porting org-shiftup/down as a separate module MetroWind

related: * https://alexjj.com/blog/2016/managing-my-personal-finances-with-beancount/ * https://github.com/MetroWind/dotfiles-mac/blob/master/emacs/files/.emacs-pkgs/tsmanip.el

——————————--

Packaging emacs packages for Debian (pre-recorded) David Bremner

related: * https://github.com/takaxp/org-tree-slide * https://emacsconf.org/2019/debemacs

——————————--

Interactive Remote Debugging and Development with TRAMP Mode 3:15-4pm EDT / 7:15-8pm UTC / 8:15-9pm CET Matt Ray (emacs@mattray.dev, @mattray)

related: * Tramp Cheatsheet https:imgur.com/a/3jDEFhV * defun toggle-alternate-file-as-root(): https://gist.github.com/ieure/885335e047878d504d39b34e1a1ff4e6 * https://github.com/nflath/sudo-edit * https://www.vagrantup.com/ * https://www.chef.io/, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chef_(software)

——————————--

GNU Emacs as software freedom in practice 4-4:30pm EDT / 8-8:30pm UTC / 9-9:30pm CET Greg Farough

related: * https://karl-voit.at/2017/02/10/evolution-of-systems/ * Quote from https:www.gnu.org/gnu/rms-lisp.en.html * “It was Bernie Greenberg, who discovered that it was (2). He wrote a version of Emacs in Multics MacLisp, and he wrote his commands in MacLisp in a straightforward fashion. The editor itself was written entirely in Lisp. Multics Emacs proved to be a great success — programming new editing commands was so convenient that even the secretaries in his office started learning how to use it. They used a manual someone had written which showed how to extend Emacs, but didn’t say it was a programming. So the secretaries, who believed they couldn’t do programming, weren’t scared off. They read the manual, discovered they could do useful things and they learned to program.”

——————————--

Closing remarks 4:30-4:45pm EDT / 8:30-8:45pm UTC / 9:30-9:45pm CET

——————————--

Emacs: The Editor for the Next Forty Years (pre-recorded) 4:45-5:45pm EDT / 8:45-9:55pm UTC / 9:45-10:45pm CET Perry E. Metzger

related: * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TECO_(text_editor) * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WebKit * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slack_(software) * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discord_(software) * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Servo_(layout_engine) * https://next.atlas.engineer/ * (used LaTeX/Beamer for presentation) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beamer_(LaTeX)

——————————--

(Karl is leaving here because it’s past 11pm and he feels exhausted already.)

——————————--

How to record executable notes with eev - and how to play them back Eduardo Ochs

related: * http://angg.twu.net/#eev * http://angg.twu.net/eev-intros/find-audiovideo-intro.html * http://angg.twu.net/LATEX/2019emacsconf.pdf

——————————--

MPdel Damien Cassou * start 2019-11-02T23.31.00 CET * end 2019-11-02T23.41.00 CET

related: * https://gitea.petton.fr/mpdel/mpdel * https://github.com/mpdel/mpdel * https://www.musicpd.org/ * https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_Player_Daemon * https://github.com/DamienCassou * https://github.com/DamienCassou/navigel * https://gitea.petton.fr/DamienCassou/navigel/

——————————--

Restclient and org-mode for Api Documentation and Testing Mackenzie Bligh

related: * https://github.com/mack1070101/emacs-conf-2019

——————————--

Equake mode Ben Slade

related: * https://github.com/emacsmirror/equake * https://gitlab.com/emacsomancer/equake

——————————--

Don’t wait! Write your own (yas)snippet Tony Aldon @tonyaldon

related: * https://github.com/tonyaldon * https://joaotavora.github.io/yasnippet/index.html * https://github.com/joaotavora/yasnippet * IRC comment: A note about saving yasnippet files: it doens’t enforce a file extension, you could save it as just ‘app’ and it works. As long as you save the snippet in the directories scanned by Yasnippet

——————————--

VSCode is Better than Emacs Zaiste @zaiste, https://zaiste.net/

related: * https://github.com/zaiste * https://github.com/hlissner/doom-emacs * his YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ohzaiste * his Emacs Doom Screencasts https:www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLhXZp00uXBk4np17N39WvB80zgxlZfVwj, https://invidio.us/playlist?list=PLhXZp00uXBk4np17N39WvB80zgxlZfVwj&hl=en-US

——————————--

Navigel to facilitate the creation of tabulated-list based UIs Damien Cassou

——————————--

Object oriented spreadsheets with example applications David O’Toole

——————————--

Deviating Zurich satellite Live Talks 1:45pm-4:00pm EDT / 5:45-8:00pm, UTC / 6:45pm-9:00pm CET

https://200ok.ch/posts/2019-09-17_announcing_the_official_emacsconf_zurich_satellite.html

——————————--

Conference MISC

——————————--

Links of Conference attendees

———————————-

Retrospective

What went well?

What to improve?

Volunteers

Thanks

Next steps (we’d love it if you helped with this stuff - you can coordinate with bandali or sachac, or with each other)